So I’ve been living in Hawai’i for almost two weeks now. If you did not know, the land here (especially on Big Island) is ruled by a goddess known as Pele. She lives in volcanoes and her fire is literal, metaphorical, and spiritual in nature. Everybody I have spoken to agrees that when you come here, your darkness will burn. And sure you can muster the will to keep those shadows in but most surrender and shine.
Removing myself from refined sugars, tech distractions, and drugs has been a challenge. One that when coupled with the fire here opened many wounds within me. I have since walked a path of acceptance and through that, strength. Today, I sit for the first time with a clear head writing to you.
There exists an idea called “tapasia” meaning inner fire. Specifically, purification by inner fire. If you are able to resist your desires and distractions, the energy you put towards those will turn into an inner fire that if bounded and respected will slowly transform you a step closer to your higher self. This process is alchemical in nature and continues many times it seems until you are “enlightened” or “individuated” or “divine” or what have you.
As this round of my fire keeps going, I find my writing condensing in words and scope. This reveals the dense power inherent to what I am saying and brings fresh hope and inspiration. I encourage you today, stoke the fire.

Leave a comment