I’m a father! Holy shit! For the last 7 months, my life has been invaded by a little bug that started with baby fever and some arousal. With a name like Maya, I had to expect her to change my world. And boy (girl?) did she deliver.

The month after she was born, I wrote an entire book of poetry and the outpouring has not stopped. Much of the writing targets issues I see in the world and the patterns of consciousness that lead to the physical tangibles such as global warming, separatist violence, and discriminatory social stratification. A better world is necessary for us, but even more, our children need it. We might survive but “human” as we know and love will not.

A Father’s Teaching

so yeah, i want to teach my daughter to change the oil
and how to foil a schemer’s grip on her heart loyal.
how to use a knife;
play the pan pipe;
and dance like my wife.
but listen, i want my daughter to teach me,
it’s like buddha for free
and all children come like her, ready to shine.
i want her to know not to listen to me sometimes.
to climb more than she goes out to dine.
i want her to listen to great women because i won’t have her caged in the bullpen
by a trumped up system of patrist, apologist men and their viper converted femmes.
i want her to wear whatever length hem, she damn well feels because
fuck
them.
hater, fakers, takers, heart void lust slakers.

beyond her earth-bound pair, she has a heavenly father, just and fair,
lord of sweet mother in the deep, full of care.
her guideposts i leave here, because i am no seer.
i just want her to spill mother mary from her lips
as often as boy next door, harry, who chews dip.
i want her to revel to become rebel.
i want her to know heights more than slights.
but most of all,
i want her to rise to daring womanhood still feeling that
this world i left her is just a little bit
good.

 

Leave a comment